March 2015 archive

SciFi Mixed Links – March 31, 2015

Space art by Ron Miller, via Quartz.com.

Space art by Ron Miller, via Quartz.com.

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

Total Lunar Eclipse: Saturday, April 4

Picture of a lunar eclipse from October 8, 2014. Image Source: Annette DeGiovine Oliveira via spaceweather.com

Picture of a lunar eclipse from October 8, 2014. Image Source: Annette DeGiovine Oliveira via spaceweather.com

A total lunar eclipse will be visible this Saturday throughout Alaska, eastern Australia, northern Japan, and eastern Russia. Those on the west coast of the United States and parts of eastern China will still have a nice view of a partial eclipse. At 5 minutes in length, this will be one of the shortest lunar eclipses in the 21st century.

For more information, see the NASA eclipse page.

Best viewing times (in local time):

  • Anchorage, AK: 3:30-4:30 AM
  • Los Angeles, CA: 4:30-5:30 AM
  • Tokyo, Japan: 8:30-9:30 PM
  • Beijing, China: 7:30-8:30 PM
  • Melbourne, Australia: 10:30-11:30 PM
facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

Mare Infinitus: The Water World of Dan Simmon’s Hyperion

The water world of Mare Infinitus, circling a gas giant with two other moons. SciFiMix original art, created with NASA textures.

The water world of Mare Infinitus, from Dan Simmon’s Hyperion Cantos. Mare Infinitus circles a gas giant with two other moons. SciFiMix original art, created with NASA textures.

Mare Infinitus is a world of endless ocean.  From the viewpoint of an observer on Mare Infinitus, three beautiful yet distinct moons rise in the sky each night.  In fact, Mare Infinitus (sometimes known as “Mare-Eye”) is one of three moons in celestial orbit around a Jovian gas giant. (more…)

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

SciFi Mixed Links – March 21, 2015

Concept art for Frank Herbert's Dune. Image Source: Brune LeBlanc.

Concept art for Frank Herbert’s Dune. Image Source: Bruno Leblanc.

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

That’s one small step for panda…

Will we ever send giant pandas to space? SciFiMix Original Art, with moon textures and Earth image courtesy of NASA.

Will we ever send giant pandas to space? SciFiMix Original Art, with moon textures and Earth image courtesy of NASA.

In honor of the 50th year anniversary of the very first space walk, by Russian cosmonaut Alexei Leonov (Times article), we bring you a moonwalking giant panda. Though pandas have yet to be sent into space (as far as we know), let’s not forget the contributions of other animals towards space flight. These daring creatures paved the way for Alexei Leonov, Neil Armstrong, and the NASA missions today. (more…)

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

SciFi Mixed Links – March 16, 2015

Image Credit: Nick Acosta

Image Credit: Nick Acosta.

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather

SciFi Mixed Links – March 8, 2015

Of my friend, I can only say this: Of all the souls I have encountered in my travels, his was the most…. human.

– James T. Kirk

Stars at the Center of the Galaxy. Image Source: NASA

Stars at the Center of the Galaxy. Source: NASA

In honor of Leonard Nimoy. A man who has traveled to the center of the galaxy, back in time, and into our hearts. We will all miss you. (NY Times Article, The Final Frontier movie script, Memorial Video).

facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestby feather